

Become a member of the

John Snow Society

Celebrating the life and tradition of Dr John Snow: the noted epidemiologist, anaesthetist, innovator, remover of pump handles...

About us

The John Snow Society has more than 4000 members worldwide, many of whom are eminent specialists in public health.

Membership is open to anyone who wishes to celebrate the memory of John Snow. International membership is encouraged, the only requirement being that you visit the John Snow pub on any visit to London! Life membership is £15, which entitles you to a John Snow membership card* and commemorative mug (an additional charge of £5 is required to cover postage costs of the mug within the UK, £10 to Europe and £15 to destinations outside Europe).

Please tick the box if you have already received the mug \square

The joining fee is payable by UK cheque (payable to 'John Snow Society') or online bank transfer. Unfortunately, we are unable to accept dollar or euro cheques.



In order to complete your application, please either email Deborah Curle at johnsnowsociety@lshtm.ac.uk for details of online bank transfers, or send a cheque to the address below.

				_
Λ.	nn	1100	tion	Form
Δ		III. ai		

Title Forename Surname
Email address for annual correspondence
Address
Postcode
Job title
*To lower administrative overheads, we are asking new members to only opt in if they would like to receive a membership card. Holding a membership card is not a requirement of membership of the John Snow Society, and printing, making and posting cards takes time. We are happy to print cards for members who would especially like to hold one but please ONLY check this box if you would like to be sent a PAPER membership card. A print at home card will also be sent to you in your welcome email - if this will meet your needs, please do not check this box.
\Box I am happy with the electronic PRINT AT HOME membership card
\Box I would like to receive a PAPER membership card
All completed application forms and cheques should be sent to: The John Snow Society, c/o LSHTM, Faculty of Epidemiology & Population Health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Keppel Street, London WC1E 7HT, UK.

The John Snow Society will use the information on this form (name, job title, postal and email addresses, and telephone number) in order to process and manage your membership, as set out in the Society's constitution (http://www.johnsnowsociety.org/the-society/constitution.html). Managing membership includes administering membership records, sending your membership card by post, emailing you the annual Broadsheet newsletter, and announcing the Pumphandle Lecture and AGM. We will not share your information with any other organisation without your prior consent, unless we are required to do so by law. Should you wish to terminate your membership, you may inform the society and your record will be removed from the database.

Our Activities

The Society organises a miscellany of activities from serious to social. According to our constitution, any time two members meet, anywhere, they may declare it a meeting of the John Snow Society. We encourage members to organise activities and let other members know about them (photographic records are encouraged in preference to minutes). One formal lecture is held each year: The Pumphandle Lecture (on or near the 8 September), organised by epidemiologist members, to which all are welcome. Local chapters of the Society may like to hold meetings wherever they are located, and all members are encouraged to visit the John Snow Pub in Broadwick Street, Soho, where pictures relating to Snow are on display in the upstairs bar, and where the Visitors' book is also held.

Administering the Society

Professor Elizabeth Allen (Ex Officio), LSHTM; Ms. Deborah Curle, LSHTM; Ms Lauren D'Mello-Guyett; Professor Paul Fine, LSHTM (Co-secretary); Professor Stefan Flasche, LSHTM; Dr. Alex Mold; Dr Charlotte Flynn (Co-secretary); Professor Sebastian Funk, LSHTM (Financial Controller); Dr. Pedro Hallal; Professor James Hargreaves, LSHTM (Co-chair); Professor Dilys Morgan; Dr. Patrick Nguipdop-Djomo, LSHTM (Co-web content officer); Dr. William Roberts (Ex Officio), RSPH; Professor George Rutherford; Dr. Seyi Soremekun, LSHTM (Co-web content officer); Dr Marta Tufet, UKCDR (Co-treasurer); Professor John Watson (Co-treasurer); Professor Jimmy Whitworth, LSHTM (Co-chair and pub liaison).



